soggybottom
Rain, Squalls, More Rain and More Squalls!
It has now rained almost solidly for about 48 hours.  And really WET rain.
I have got to the bottom (excuse the pun) of my soggy bottom – and it is
not going to improve until Danang.  Our foul weather gear was taken off the
boat in Sydney to be washed.  By the amount of people whose foulies are
leaking, the re-proofing did not take.  This does mean that every time I
put them on, they are absolutely soaked, and everything I have on
underneath gets soaked as well.  Let’s hope the weather improves, as my
bottom is certainly not going to until the clothes I have around it are not
continually wet.  I will have to re proof them myself at the next stop –
very important before we cross that little old ocean called the Pacific.  I
can’t imagine what it would be like to have wet clothes and be absolutely
freezing cold at the same time.

I am on mother duty today with Marc – the first time we have mothered
together.  He has been on my watch since London, this is the first time we
have been split.  I am on a mostly different watch this time, with Kat as
the watch leader again.  What with Emily and Chewie having left, Val and
Marc on the other watch, I feel that my “family” have been split up.  There
are obviously nice people on this watch too, but it just isn’t the same.  I
hasten to say though, Marc is making up for lost time by poking fun at me
while he can.  Not sure if I can make it for the whole 24 hours!
badass

After the fridge incident the other day, we missed a tree trunk yesterday.
I would like to say that it was my skilful helming that saved the day, but
as I didn’t see it until it was behind me I can’t claim that.  What on
earth is a great big tree trunk doing in the middle of the ocean?  At this
rate, we are bound to hit something somewhere.
doglog

At present we are dodging around atolls and reefs that are very close to
the surface.  Most you can’t see, so sticking to the course that we need is
very important.  When a squall comes up on you within seconds, and the wind
and waves push you way off where you need to be, that is very hard.  It
takes all your strength, well mine anyway, to keep the boat on the straight
and narrow.  I much prefer to helm in the calm and peaceful surroundings of
a smooth sea, although there is those that get that glint in their eye when
the going gets rather fruity!  There has been a joke or two on the boat
that when we pass one of the atolls we will probably see Lmax beached there
– but that is a bit cruel!

We had a near calamity this morning  – no damage to boat or people thank
goodness.  The pad eye that holds that running back stay sheared off the
deck, and the backstay flew across the deck with a huge bang!
backstay
This meant that there was nothing technically holding up the mast.  If the weather had been worse, and there was more pressure on the mast it could have snapped it.  Wendo has made a temporary replacement which will last us until Danang, when hopefully all of the pad eyes on all of the boats will be replaced.  Because if one goes, it is likely that others will, as all of the boats have done the same amount of miles.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –
Bridget only has basic email facilities on the boat. Editing and the choice of images on this blog is entirely by Paul Keevil!
Don’t miss another of Bridget’s blogs – click on follow and you will get an email when her next post is online.

