slowboat.gif
How slow can you go?  It seems as though we are going at snails pace.  We currently have just under 250 miles to go to the finish line, and then another 142 to motor to get around the bottom of Vancouver Island and into into Seattle.  We are sailing when we can, but when the wind drops we have to motor.  I think that the fuel is now going to last us all the way in, as we have sailed enough to conserve what we need – I hope.  We have now got the emergency tiller set up on the port rudder, so that it can be used of sorts.  It keeps it in one position rather than having it flapping about completely useless.  It is set so that it is helping to keep the good rudder in the water.  Or so I am told – I haven’t been up on deck since the knock down, so they could tell me anything really.

My injuries are mostly coming good.  My eye is almost open again now, and the steri strips look as if they have done their job with the cut under my eye, and it seems to have knitted together.  I am told that I will probably have a scar – the cut was quite deep but very close to the bottom of my eye.  The colouring seems to have gone from the corporate Danang orange to a yellow now – and the swelling on the top of my eye is almost back to normal.
tenrounds
My cheek is still fairly swollen, and all of it is still very sore.  My legs are probably just very badly bruised – to be honest I haven’t even looked.  Every day I get up they take a while to stabilise, but every day they seem to be getting stronger and stronger.  The thing that is concerning me the most is my right arm.  It is still nowhere near on the way to mending.  Every day I can move it just that little bit more, but only just a little bit.  I can’t lift it, or move it outwards.  I am hoping that it is just a big bruise (again, I haven’t looked) and not anything more. But, I am still disappointed that the progression is not going faster in that area.

Thank goodness for my kindle – I think I may have gone stir crazy if I didn’t have books to read.  The entertainment on board is very limited! Although we have had a couple of games to keep up the morale.  From way back when we crossed the date line, Marc decided we needed to have a Blind Date Dateline Game.
blind.gif
We had it ready to go, but it was too cold and wet when we crossed the date line to do it, so it has been waiting ever since.  Today seemed a good day.  We all had to write out three questions to ask our blind date.  They were all written on one piece of paper, and then put into a bag. Someone then had to pick out three sets of questions, and choose which set they thought would be the best date, and try to work out whose they were. There was some hilarity, which was nice to see come back to the boat.  I picked Matt’s questions – although in reality I wouldn’t have dated any of them, they were the least worse questions out of the three.  Heather picked out my questions, and several others were paired up.  Not quite sure where our dates are going to take  us………

Heather also came up with a good game a couple of days ago – a version of  boat Cluedo.
boatcluedo.gif
We all had to pick a name, a weapon and a place for the murder.  I picked out Dora, with a pair of gloves (not  my own) in the port side of the galley.  It was lunch time, so I was sitting on the port side of the galley listening to the meeting going on upstairs.  Dora was on the steps serving lunch to those on the upper deck, and conveniently a pair of gloves were on the shelf above the bin.  Not mine.  I asked her to pass them to me, and then handed them back to her.
The first kill was made before lunch!

Everyone was then cautious when anyone asked anyone to pass them anything. David has been going around with a rubber duck in his pocket – just who is the victim and where does he need to get him??
duck

Funny things come back to you when you have oodles of time to think about things.  On the thirty minute shift that I had in the pit before I went back to the main sheet, I was hit in the face about four times with a wave.  Not a huge amount of water,  but enough to get wet.  I hate the “F” word, and very, very rarely use it.  Although it seems that it is revalent in so many people’s normal conversation.  Including most on the boat.  So far, I have not used it at all. It is conspicuous by its absence in my conversation, and naturally most people do not use it when they talk to me, although if they are having a conversation with someone on their other side it may slip in. On the occasion of the fourth wave in the face, I actually thought that word to myself.  There was nothing more appropriate that I could think of. I hope that doesn’t become a habit.
fcukit.jpg

James also informed me that my overload indicator had gone off on my tether.  That is a warning over a piece of stitching to indicate if the tether had been put under more load than it was designed for.  Should have stuck to that diet!!  I was glad that it had held me, but he said that I needn’t worry.  My back would break before the tether would fail.  Somewhere between a rock and a hard place there I think!

Two more days or so……………………………….

– – – – – – – – – – – – –
If you like Bridget’s blogs please give a fiver to her charity.
https://www.justgiving.com/bridgetkeevil/
To all who have donated – you have helped raise £3,435.05 so far.
Many many thanks.

